The R.M.C. diploma is accepted by the Law Societies and Bar Associations of Nova Scotia, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia as the equivalent of a B.A. degree for admission to the study of law. The Dominion Association of Chartered Accountants likewise accepts R.M.C. graduates as registered students under the same conditions as university graduates.

Entrance to the College is on a competitive basis. Candidates are required to pass a rigid medical examination, and to have obtained junior matriculation or an acceptable equivalent. Applications for admission to the College should reach The Secretary, Department of National Defence, Ottawa, before May 31 of each year.

## Section 3.-Department of Public Works.\*

Since Confederation and before, the constructing department of the Dominion Government has been known as the Department of Public Works. In 1879 the railways and canals were placed under the control of a new department, the building and maintenance of penitentiaries were transferred to the Department of Justice, the maintenance and construction of lighthouses to the Marine and Fisheries Department, and the smaller drill halls and armouries to the Department of National Defence. The work of the Department of Public Works is now divided into three principal branches, *viz.*, the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch and the Telegraph Branch.

Engineering.—The Engineering Branch conducts the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works; the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging; the construction, operation and maintenance of dredging plant and the construction, operation and maintenance of graving or dry docks. The construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, also the construction, operation and maintenance of bridges with movable spans on certain highways; hydrographical and topographical surveys which are required for the preparation of plans, reports and estimates; test borings for the purpose of ascertaining the nature of foundations; the testing of coments and materials of construction; the licensing of international and interprovincial ferries, and the control of works constructed in or over navigable waters by authority of the Navigable Waters Protection Act (R.S.C., 1927, c. 140).

Architecture.—The Architect's Branch constructs and maintains Government buildings, post offices, customs houses, examining warehouses, quarantine stations, immigration and experimental farm buildings, military hospitals and telegraph offices. It also constructs armouries and drill halls and leases office accommodation as required for the various Departments.

**Telegraphs.**—The Telegraph Branch has control of the construction, operation and maintenance of all Government-owned telegraph lines and cables. These lines are located in the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, and Yukon (see also p. 712).

Graving Docks.—The Department constructed five dry docks and is responsible for subsidies under the Dry Dock Subsidies Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 17). A description of these docks is given in the Transportation Chapter, p. 881.

Expenditure and Revenue.—Table 4 shows the expenditures and revenues of the Public Works Department of the Dominion Government, for the fiscal years 1931-36.

<sup>\*</sup> Revised by J. M. Somerville, Secretary, Department of Public Works.